“Please give to someone else. I am cancer free as of today.”

I handed a beautiful bouquet to a beautiful lady. “I got good news today. I am cancer-free so I won’t be coming back here very much anymore. I know how it feels to walk through these doors feeling depressed and worried. Please save this bouquet for someone else who is still in a very bad way. ”

And then a few minutes later, I passed her again in the hallway of Fox Chase Cancer Center and guess what?

She said, “I really love flowers so much.”

I extended the fall bouquet. She smiled and said, “They mean so much to me today because they are celebratory flowers for me. I am cancer-free by the grace of God. No more medicine, no more surgeries. I was pretty close to dying. Hopefully, I can get back to my career. It is all so overwhelming. These are my flowers of Thanksgiving. Sort of a thank God for my blessings bouquet.”

I thought of my father’s favorite song –  “You’ll Never Walk Alone,” which  was originally sung in the Rodgers and Hammerstein musical Carousel. My father loved the versions sung by Perry Como and Frank Sinatra.  Since it was not a church hymn,   the church would not allow it to be sung at his memorial service . My father passed away from cancer in 2001.

Walk on, walk on with hope in your heart…….and you will never walk alone.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mBAMMFDeC6A

Leave a Reply

