Some “random act of flowering” pictures!

CAM00045

CAM00060

Hope you enjoy seeing random acts of happy flowers pictures that show the power of flowers!

CAM00057When you are the Flower Lady, you try your best to bring sun, fun and flowers with you on the random acts of flowers route.  Conversation is happy when you wander about a nursing home. On Happy Flower Day, there is no talk about pain, muscle strain, cramps or sadness.

This is Bob, one of my volunteers,  with one of the employees of a senior healthcare community.

CAM00026

The focus is on the surprise of something that enriches the day of our elders. As I was saying goodbye after delivering 47 bouquets of cheer and potted pink and orange potted plants,  a resident stopped me.

She said, “There is a lady here and she does not have family or visitors and her 99th birthday is coming up. Or it might be her 100th. I am not sure about that. The staff and the residents are going to try to make it special for her – so she is not sad on her birthday. Do you think you could bring flowers that day for us?”

In the spirit of flowery friendship and momentous occasions, you don’t have to ask me twice!  I wouldn’t miss the chance to bring gladiolas of gladness, a rainbow of roses, and flowery fun.

And maybe we will all share some colorful birthday memories as varied as the colors of the beautiful bouquets.

Blooms for the birthday gal and all of her friends….you can bet your bottom dollar that I will be there.

And another little story about another day.

I made arrangements with a Trader Joe’s store to pick up flowers for a 2 pm nursing home visit. I said I would be there at 1pm. When I got to the parking lot of the shopping center, I called to ask which door I should go in to get the blooms.

“Somebody from your organization already came in. They picked them up an hour ago.”

I was shocked thinking there is nobody in my “organization” except me! It turns out that somebody asked for a donation and they gave them the flowers that were meant for my delivery to a nursing home along Lancaster Pike,

So no flowers. Luckily I had my Team of Angels pins to pass out. A Team of Angels to the Rescue to help The Flower Lady out of an embarrassing jam.

Leave a Reply

