No flowers – Boo Hoo but maybe not!

Oh no, they didn’t save the heavenly fragranced flowers for me on Friday.

My mother had two appointments at home today – one for the visiting nurse and one for the respiratory therapist.

I called Trader Joe’s to let them know that I would be coming in around 1 pm.

It was pouring rain and I got there later than expected. No flowers were waiting for me. Someone tossed them into the dumpster.

No sunshine for the soul for the ladies in the nursing homes but you know what?  I think I needed a day off – a little Un- Flower Day Therapy for myself.

I think it was the universe’s way of telling me to slow down – that I can skip the seeing the smiles on seniors’ faces for a day or so.

I don’t want to waste flowers but as a friend told me – they got wasted before you started doing the Happy Flower Day initiative.

I know that bouquets of caring nourish people with dementia and people who feel isolated and lonely….but I guess I needed a day to nourish myself.

My thought as I left a nursing home yesterday – by the grace of God, I can WALK out of here.   Truly  a feeling of gratitude.

Thank God for walking out and for His will (I hope) that blossomed into a rewarding project for me!

For me, it is a natural way to feel high. And I hope that nature’s bounty does the same for the Happy Flower Day recipients.

Leave a Reply

