“Age is only a number. Pick one.” Wisdom from a senior

This morning, an older man and his senior living community girlfriend were sitting on a small loveseat together in the parlor. She is partially blind and they both get around on motorized scooters. They met a year ago and were sitting like comfortable young lovers. Her hand was clasped in his, and their hands were squeezed tightly together. He called to me. “Hey, remember me?” I said, “No, what is your name?”

“My name is Chuckie. You are the lady that brings in all of the presents for us. I have your stuffed animal, an angel pin and then you brought us those beautiful bouquets of flowers.” I sat down next to them and we were talking about age. She is one year older than him. His wisdom to me: “Age is only a number. Just pick one.” They both smiled at me and said, “Thank you.” I said thank you to them for just being so nice!

So thank you to all of the people who give me the presents to take to the appreciative seniors.

Leave a Reply

