Touching letter from Lisa in Connecticut

I received a box today with little items neatly wrapped in bubble wrap plastic. There was a typed note enclosed with the stuffed animals. I was so touched by all of the trouble that Lisa went to……when deciding what to do with some of her favorite childhood toys. I think you will agree with me that Lisa is a very special and caring person!

Dear Patricia,

I have been looking for a charity like yours for the past few months. It all started when I had to clean out my room at my grandma’s house. You see, I was very close to my grandma and I had my own room at her house. Over the years, I visited as much as possible, and I stored my most sentimental treasures there. However, a few years ago, my grandma got dementia and she is moving to a nursing home in a few weeks.

I need to clean out my old room so my family could sell my grandma’s house to pay for the nursing home. In the closet, I found some beloved childhood stuffed animals. I cleaned them up as much as I could, and wanted to give them to the place where they were most needed.

At first, I began searching close to home, in my town, and then my state, but none of them felt quite right. I found a lot of worthy causes…but I continued looking for weeks and then months. Then I did another Google search and found your Craigslist ad and website. It was just right – a charity that honors senior citizens, like my grandma, and I knew that I had found what I was looking for.

The larger monkey’s name is “Black Monkey.” The smaller monkey’s name is “Black Chee.” Black Monkey is Black Chee’s uncle. I have had them since I was a child. I got the Pillsbury doughboys as an adult, and they don’t have names yet.

I am sending these stuffed animals to you with love to each person who gets them, and a big hug from me too. I am also sending gratitude to you and all of the people who work in your charity for the good cause that you work for. Thank you for all of the work that you do to help elderly people.

Sincerely,
Lisa P.

Leave a Reply

