Richard and Anita

What happened today at the nursing home:

Richard was visiting Anita, his wife:

Well, I met my wife in North Carolina and we have been married for 33 years. We were both young and I had another girlfriend but Anita liked me and was always coming around to where I was hanging out. I was sitting in my car one day when we were young…and Anita hopped in and grabbed the steering wheel and told me to take her for a ride.

She said to me, “I bet you don’t have any money or even any gas in this car…….but I like you anyway.”

She was probably right about that but we fell in love and moved to Pottstown. She lives here now at the nursing home and I come down on the bus to visit her, from Pottstown to Norristown.

I love to visit her – she is my wife. When I look into her pretty face, I just know that she is the right gal for me.

Note from me:
It is a financial hardship for Richard to afford the bus fare to visit his wife. If anyone would like to make a donation of any amount, please join me when I go to this nursing home and you can give Richard an envelope which contains bus fare or perhaps some money for a Burger King lunch along his route. But more importantly, you will see what I saw as I watched him interact with his wife who appeared to have had a stroke. Her eyes moved but she did not seem to be able to speak and she had no mobility. She seemed “trapped” in her body, in a big black wheelchair. You will probably see what I witnessed – a man who loves the young woman who wanted to go for a ride with him…..many years ago in North Carolina. I cannot imagine how hard it is for him to be away from her. He loves Motown music and he told me that they used to love to dance to the old Detroit sound so I played these two videos for him and Anita. He held her hand very tightly as he watched the video.

Leave a Reply

