Not everyone who lives in the nursing homes is elderly…it could be me or you.

Not everyone who lives in the nursing homes is elderly. Here is what one woman told me on Sunday at a nursing home visit. Our lives could change in an instant.

It could be anyone of us….here is Kay’s story. And by the way, her birthday is December 20th. Wonder if we could do something special for this special lady – any ideas? I am up for surprising her with a birthday celebration! Want to do something?

Kay  has been in the nursing home for two years. In a wheelchair. Much younger than the other residents. A nurse said to me, I don’t think this is the best placement for her. She is lonely. She only has one person that comes in…I think a cousin…..once every three months. She has a sister but she lives on the West Coast and has never been here.

“I had just gotten my check and I was walking with my friend to Burger King. Then, she said she wanted to go for Chinese food. We went to the bank and I got the $294 that I pay her every two weeks for her letting me stay at her house. I worked for the school district for more than 30 years in maintenance so I get a check. We had her daughter with us and we were crossing the street when all of the sudden, BOOM. Something crashed into my side and the next thing I know I am laying on the street and everybody is screaming and I was screaming too. My hand was hanging off and my legs hurt so much. My friend was singing SWING LO, SWEET CHARIOT because she thought I was dying. I thought I was dying too, but I wasn’t ready to die. And then she started singing I WILL FLY AWAY which is an old Gospel song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DY0bmSIM6uo

That really scared me. I told her she better shut up. I was really mad. I was screaming at the man that hit me. He has glasses and I said you have four eyes and you ran me over. I was hysterical, she told me. I was in the hospital and when I was discharged, I had nowhere to go and nobody to take care of me. So I have been here for two years.

I have a lawyer that is trying to make me say something that isn’t true. He wants me to say that my mind is jumbled up because of the accident but how can I lie? He wants to sue the big company that owned the truck that hit me. But I am not going to bend or twist the truth because that just isn’t right.”

 

I RECEIVED THIS MESSAGE FROM A MOM OF FOUR BEAUTIFUL CHILDREN:

Trish, Do you have an address for Kay?  What if you sent out an email, asked folks to send her a birthday card, maybe write that a little angel told them that she needed a smile for her birthday….  Wow.   I try to live with more of a ‘glass is half full’ outlook, but deep inside I’m truly a ‘that could be me…my turn might be next’ kind of person.  I know that tomorrow is not promised…but I can’t imagine being Kay, or being the man in your other post who just lays on a stretcher in the middle of everyone.   So humbling, so hard to process…   So, I’ll add Kay to my ‘Alma’ prayers…but I’d love to send her a card, maybe something personalized, maybe offer to be a penpal?  Not sure…gotta pray about it…but just popped in my head that maybe it’d be cool for her to get some mail that’s just for her.  Whatever you come up with, though, count me in! :-)  Kristen

 

 

One thought on “Not everyone who lives in the nursing homes is elderly…it could be me or you.

  1. Trish, Do you have an address for Kay? What if you sent out an email, asked folks to send her a birthday card, maybe write that a little angel told them that she needed a smile for her birthday…. Wow. I try to live with more of a ‘glass is half full’ outlook, but deep inside I’m truly a ‘that could be me…my turn might be next’ kind of person. I know that tomorrow is not promised…but I can’t imagine being Kay, or being the man in your other post who just lays on a stretcher in the middle of everyone. So humbling, so hard to process… So, I’ll add Kay to my ‘Alma’ prayers…but I’d love to send her a card, maybe something personalized, maybe offer to be a penpal? Not sure…gotta pray about it…but just popped in my head that maybe it’d be cool for her to get some mail that’s just for her. Whatever you come up with, though, count me in! 🙂 Kristen

Leave a Reply

