Do you like to dance?

Patricia, I love to dance. I used to go to all of the VFW dances……love to Jitterbug. That’s what I used to do a couple times a week before I came here.

When I was 17, it was a Sunday and I was with my friends and people were talking about the Japanese bombing Pearl Harbor. Nobody had ever heard of Pearl Harbor. I was still in high school. I told my father that I was going down to enlist. He said, “Like heck, you are. You’re staying in school and getting an education.”

He changed his mind and my friend and I enlisted and before you know it, I was in combat. It all happened so fast. I still remember everything like it was yesterday.

Patricia, do you like to Jitterbug? Do you like Frank Sinatra songs? You should go to those dances on a Friday night in Warminster, at the VFW Post. Ten bucks to get in and then coffee and tea for free. You have to pay for the drinks. Baskets of chips and pretzels are on all of the tables. Can’t beat the fun for ten bucks.

He looked he was ready to go to the VFW dance, at least in his mind, he was already there.

Leave a Reply

