He said, “I was only 55 and I had a stroke last year.”

As I went on my room-to-room visits, I entered Room 203. I asked the first guy if he would like a visitor. He said that he had a bad cold. I think he really wanted to watch the football game without being interrupted.

When the other man in the room saw me, he said, “You gave me a couple of stuffed animals last time.”

We made a lot of small talk about the weather and the Eagles.

“You are too young to be in here.”

“I went to sleep one night and woke up thinking I was having a heart attack. It was a stroke. I had a good life. I was in the Army for three years. That was good for me. It was right when they were leaving Vietnam so I went to Germany. Then, I came back and worked for the city for a lot of years. I was a trashman.”

OMG. That is a hard job. All kinds of weather and all of that junk. How did you ever do that?

It wasn’t easy. It sure wasn’t easy.

He didn’t smile. His tone was a monotone. There wasn’t much in his room – not much in the way of decorations or family memories. But he was glad to have a visitor. He even turned off the Eagles game when I sat down for a visit.

Point to ponder for me:

Yes, that could me or you. Just think, you go to bed one night, feeling healthy, not sick, and wake up in pain….. life changed forever by a stroke. And even if it wasn’t us personally, if that happened to one of our loved ones, and nobody could provide the extensive care at home and you now had to visit every weekend at a nursing home and do paperwork, and ……….

There but for the grace of God go I.

I wonder if he has a family. I wonder if ……please keep this man in your daily prayers. I think he needs them. Thank you.

I just saw this online tonight. (Newsmax.com)

Strokes and heart attacks are among the deadliest conditions in the United States. And while a stroke affects your brain and a heart attack affects your heart, the main symptoms and causes for both are frighteningly similar — things in particular that you are about to discover.

Consider these similarities:

• Both are caused by a blockage in the arteries
• Both can vary greatly from minor to fatal
• Both can happen suddenly, without warning

According to the American Heart Association, heart attack is the most common cause of death in the United States. Stroke is the third-highest cause of death and is also a top culprit for long-term or permanent physical disability.Newsmax.com:

Leave a Reply

