Lady in Veterans Home tonight

I always ask the question during my Reminiscence Program: ARE YOU A SPENDER OR A SAVER? I hold up a little Teddy Bear bank as a prop. Then I ask HOW DOES IT WORK IN A MARRIAGE IF ONE PERSON IS A SPENDER AND ONE IS A SAVER? Those questions lead to an interesting discussion.

Then, I say WHAT IF I GAVE YOU FIFTY DOLLARS RIGHT NOW, WHAT WOULD YOU SPEND IT ON?

The lady in the pink outfit said, “I would buy some new clothes. A new skirt and a blouse. I had 12 kids in my family, six boys and six girls. My father was strict. We always had to obey. But we were good – we never had the cops calling at our house for any one of us.”

“Patricia, you asked who loved me the most? That would have to be my mother. She taught me how to cook. And who would be my hero? That would be my grandmother because she raised my mother to be such a great mother. I never knew my grandfather.”

Leave a Reply

