I wish the residents could hold a little American flag or paper pumpkin.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGPU3Yj9kLg&feature=related

As I look around the bleak dining rooms of many of the nursing home facilities I visit, I see a lack of color and attractive decorations. Many residents lack color in their apparel and the wheelchair that they  now “live in” for much of the day seems so sterile and cold. Today I was picturing something quite different.

What if they had something attached with a ribbon to their wheelchair or walker – a cutout of a bright orange pumpkin for Halloween or a turkey for Thanksgiving or a Christmas stocking for Christmas?  It would brighten the rooms just by the variety of new colors introduced to the healthcare setting. And since we usually say the Pledge of Allegiance and sing God Bless America, wouldn’t it be nice to have each resident holding a small American flag? (I would collect the flags after each program and use them for the next facility and the next and the next…..) The turkeys and pumpkins or whatever seasonal decoration would be given to each resident to keep as a personal decoration.

And since an Activity Director told me that 65 percent of her residents do not have visitors……maybe this teeny weeny act of kindness would lift spirits one  little pumpkin at a time?

I would love to hear your ideas. Please call me and let me know if you have a group of  creative kids that would like to make these little items to “dress up” the wheelchairs and walkers? I guess they would have to be laminated or be durable ……….am open to all of your great ideas! I would love to hear from you. It is best to call as I receive so many SPAM responses that I hesitate to open the unfamiliar emails.

Thank you.

Patricia Gallagher BA, MBA

Director of the Stories for Seniors Project

www.storiesforseniors.wordpress.com

Cell: 267 939 0365

Leave a Reply

