Did anyone ever hear of Polk Salad leaves?

What one man asked today at nursing home visit:

Where I grew up in North Carolina, there were a lot of home-made remedies. My mother used turpentine and sugar if I had a cold. Yes, real turpentine, the kind you use to remove paint. At least, that is what she told me it was. I used to look out my window and there was a leaf that she called a Polk Salad leaf. She used that to cure something or to make something. I don’t remember exactly. Did  anyone ever hear of Polk Salad? I heard of Dandelion Salad, too, made out of the stems of the yellow dandelions that grew in the wild.

 

I remember that Elvis Presley sang a song called Polk Salad Annie in the 1970’s.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMo1csFQbB0&feature=related

Leave a Reply

