Patricia, I wrote this poem about my mother……

I went to visit some of my favorite ladies and Katherine said to me:

Patricia, I am 70 years old and will probably be here the rest of my life because I can’t walk and do not have anyone to take care of me,  or a place to live. Remember, Daphne, the other lady that used to sit with us. She had to have her foot amputated and I don’t know where they took her. People talk around here so I don’t know if that is true…I hope not.

Here is a poem that I wrote about my mother. She isn’t living anymore. I thought you could ask the nurse if she can copy it for you in the office and then you can read it to other people when you visit. I just wrote it in my handwriting ’cause I do not have a typewriter or anything here. I called it MOTHER, NO ONE CAN EVER TAKE THE PLACE OF YOU. You inspired me to write it because you told me you needed some ideas for a Mother’s Day Tea that you were attending. I hope you like it.

 

MOTHER, NO ONE COULD EVER TAKE THE PLACE OF YOU

NO MATTER WHAT YOU SAY OR DO, I STILL LOVE YOU.

OTHER THINGS WE CAN TRADE AND GET BRAND NEW

A MOTHER WILL ALWAYS BE WITH YOU.

MOTHER TAUGHT ME WELL

SOMETIMES I DID NOT UNDERSTAND

TOUGH LOVE I NOW UNDERSTAND

SHE LOVED ME JUST THE SAME

MOTHER HAD A HEART OF GOLD

SHE WAS THE HEAD OF THE HOUSEHOLD

EVERY TIME I LOOK IN THE MIRROR

I SEE A REFLECTION OF ME

I LOOK JUST LIKE MOM, YOU SEE

I REMEMBER MOTHER ALWAYS

SHE LIVES IN MY HEART FROM DAY TO DAY.

Leave a Reply

