The residents wanted a Bible Study today because it was Good Friday

 Patricia, you know what today is, don’t you? It is Good Friday. I want to talk about it and what it means. Sometimes I am having a pity party for myself and then I think of what God went through for me……it makes me so sad that I can cry just thinking about it.

Well, today is Good Friday for the Christian believers. The residents wanted to talk about God, Jesus, their Lord. So, I got out my favorite DVD video clips and tried to lead a discussion using the videos as props. It worked out wonderfully. I showed the video and they shared how it related to them and their love for their God. I had a large metal cross/crucifix with me and at the end, we passed it from person to person. Some kissed it, and others whispered words such as Praise God. Thank you, God, for your blessings. Thank you, God for saving us. And others asked God to guide them with a particular intention.

In each video, they saw something to thank God for – the smiling children in the video, the things of nature, the animals, the gift of the singers’ beautiful voices, and many other little things that were very poignant. They watched the videos and shared memories from their lives and how their faith manifested in all parts of their lives.

The DVD’s were:

God Bless America  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pCavKL2zdjM\

My County Tis of Thee  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5NqszdLiJxg

Somewhere Over the Rainbow by Judy Garland  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhzbzwPNgXA 

Jesus Loves Me  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMCR4p5mSjQ
The Kool-Aid Commercial    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKY2O4KFmMU 

The Our Father sung by Johnny Mathis  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bG61UNnuGQ8

Bicycle Built for Two  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZP1J9YGO0G4

Everybody selected a stuffed animal and everybody had at least one beautiful tissue paper corsage attached to the side of the wheelchair, on their sweater buttonholes or placed in their hair.

Meryl from Doylestown made 166 tissue paper corsages. And every one has been delivered to bring Easter Joy to people in senior care facilities! It is a beautiful thing to witness when you show a basket of flowers to residents and say,” My friend made these and asked me to bring them to you. Which one would you like? How about pink to match your outfit? Where do you want me to put it? On your blouse? In your hair? On the side of your wheelchair? Would you like another one for your room-mate or for somebody who couldn’t come today?

I thank God for all of the people in this room. They are like my family now. When I was living at home, I felt like I was a burden. My children and their families could not go on vacations because they would worry about me. I like it here. I have people around me all of the time and we help each other. If you’ll excuse me for a few minutes, I have to go back to my room to get my other hearing aid. I don’t want to miss anything we are talking about here.

And does anybody have a special prayer they would like to say?

May today there be peace within.
May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.
May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.
May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you.
May you be content knowing you are a child of God.
Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing,
Dance, praise and love.  
It is there for each and every one of us.

Leave a Reply

