“Somebody took it away.”

I saw the lady smoking outside of  the nursing home. Her aide was standing next to her wheelchair.

Oh, I remember you from last time. I gave you the big giraffe.

Somebody took it away.

I looked at the aide. Iasked, “What did she say?”

It was hard to understand the older lady when she spoke.

The aide said, “She thinks somebody took it from her. Her mind is not very clear so I don’t really know what she is thinking right now.”

I went to my van and brought her a big bunny. She wrapped her arms around it and became very chatty, speaking to the aide and to the bunny.

It was a beautiful sight. Just so simple. A stuffed animal on a balmy Tuesday night left the lady smiling and chatting happily.

Thank you, everybody, for your donations.

Leave a Reply

