I posted this on Craig’s List about Visiting Senior Care Facilities

Do you work in a nursing center, a rehabiltation facility or a hospital? A Children’s Home , a shelter or any place that might like visitors? Yesterday, my mother and my 25 – year old daughter and I went to two nursing centers homes and read two stories to a group of residents.

The first story was  ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas and the second book was The First Christmas Story about Mary, Joseph and the baby in the stable in Bethlehem.  I bought 12 books at the Dollar Store and filled my van with  Christmas decorations – colorful Christmas decorations like stockings, stuffed animals, ornaments, twinkle lights, candles and bells. The residents gathered in a circle and we decorated the inner circle with all of the above and the residents held the toys.

We read the story and they joined in, then we sang a few songs and I asked them questions about what their favorite present they ever received was. And then Iasked, “What was the best present you ever gave to someone else?”  It was so much fun for us and for them. Yesterday, we went to Hopkins House in Wyncote and then Ivy Hill Nursing Care Center, located just a few miles away.

I still have my van,  filled with the “props” for this little holiday program. Please give me a call on my cell, and we can talk about visiting someone else this afternoon or this evening. Thank you. I will not be near my email for the rest of the day. Merry Christmas to all.

It is amazing what a little story book and some colorful decorations can do to make someone feel better. Life in a medical facility, no matter how nice,  I am sure, can be a little bleak at this time of year, for some people. Maybe these stories remind them of the good old days.  Thank you.

Cell: 267 939 0365

Patricia Gallagher, Chalfont, PA

Leave a Reply

